Doing A Broadway Musical … Day 30

We were welcomed upon our arrival at the rehearsal hall with the distribution of new pages of amended dialogue, all part of the refinement process – I was a bit overwhelmed. Following our warm-up we read through the re-writes and were told we would be allowed to carry the new pages with us to either read new dialogue or in my case, also sing new lyrics. Once the audience was assembled Jerry Mitchell told them we had new material that had only been given to us last night and this morning so they should consider that as they watched our run-through rehearsal. Indeed it was necessary for me to call for a few lines and to do the new song next to the piano with my partner in the number, Nancy Ticotin. We managed to get through the performance and there was considerable progress with the work we had been rehearsing, I think most of the cast went home feeling good about the progress. I still have all the new things to get into my bones, which will occupy a great deal more of my Thanksgiving Day off that I had planned … but plans can always be changed. The discipline involved in this kind of work is much greater and for much longer than productions that are a revival of a well-known work. In fact, the genesis of this play began over a year ago. My involvement started in January of this year when I was invited to do a reading at a table with the songs sung to a piano with a full cast, most of whom returned to do the workshop in March and are now in the cast for Chicago and on to Broadway.

We were released a bit early, which is always welcomed, as everyone was looking forward to Thanksgiving. I’m sure those of you who are in the states are also anticipating this favorite holiday of the year. I think it is an accepted fact that Thanksgiving appeals to everyone … I mean who can find anything politically incorrect about eating? … Although I am sure there will be a dissenter somewhere … Bah Humbug to all the Grinch’s … I am going to have a happy time and I hope you will as well.

Gotta go, GOTTA DANCE.

Stefanie

Follow me on twitter: https://twitter.com/stefanie_powers

Follow me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/stefaniepowersactress

5 thoughts on “Doing A Broadway Musical … Day 30

  1. Thank you so very much for giving your valuable time & sharing your super-talented self, helping make “Gotta Dance” the grand performance I know it will be! The butterflies in my stomach even have butterflies in anticipation! I can only imagine the sacrifices you’ve made to accomodate the rigorous rehearsal schedule . . . once again, “THANK YOU!” Much appreciated! ~Dale (Mom to 4, Mimi to 2)

    Like

Leave a Reply

