Doing A Broadway Musical … Day 48

Sunday Matinee …

I think we were all happy that there were not two shows today. Actually, it felt wonderful to finish while there was still some light on the horizon, otherwise we seem to enter the theatre in daylight … which is our only glimpse of the sun … and not leave until it’s dark outside. As I heaved a sigh of relief in my dressing room after the show I was reminded by my wig master of the saying that was credited to the great comedy writer Larry Gelbart, who famously said “If Hitler’s still alive, I hope he’s out of town with a musical”. We have more changes to go before we finish Chicago, but I’m sure when we do close here it will be the show that we open in New York.

I was surprised by some friends who got last minute tickets to today’s show. Poppy and Paige took this photo from the rear of the balcony of the finale.

IMG_0797

We went across the street for dinner and ran into a long table comprised of some of the original dancers our show was based on. They have been hosted by our producers to come to Chicago for our official opening tomorrow night. Tomorrow is the night the critics come and the local celebrities and it is “Opening Night”.

More on that tomorrow …

Gotta go, GOTTA DANCE.

Stefanie

Follow me on twitter: https://twitter.com/stefanie_powers

Follow me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/stefaniepowersactress

4 thoughts on “Doing A Broadway Musical … Day 48

  1. I was at the show again today and enjoyed every minute of it. I am sure everyone was thankful for only 1 show today so hopefully you were able to get some extra rest. Good Luck with the official opening day. Gotta Dance will never get old. Much Love Always 💜

    Liked by 5 people

  2. What an exciting time, we all know the creditics will rave the show as I know more the I can name that have seen it two or more times. We have all made new friends and you are forever in our hearts. Thank you the exciting auction this will be fun to participate and watch, and what a beautiful gift it is. Thank you again hugs from Missouri we are flooding her apparently it’s going to rain 40 days and 40 nights lol. Have a good night..:)

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Stefanie, Good luck with the official opening of Gotta Dance! You put so much into it I know it will be a huge success. Looking forward to it this weekend – so excited! It will be so very special to see you on stage. Have a wonderful week. Sending hugs and love.

    Like

  4. Good Luck with your opening night tonite. Break a leg! I hope that reference to NY means that you are going. We are all saving our money to go see you again. We love you and wish you much success. You are awesome!

    Like

Leave a Reply

